2024 LAD Early Career Award Goes to Ilsa Cooke

28 Nov 2023
Ilsa Cooke (University of British Columbia) is being honored by the AAS Laboratory Astrophysics Division for her contributions to the discovery and understanding of new molecules in space.

IAU GA Travel Fund for African Astronomers

27 Nov 2023
The African Astronomer Travel Fund is raising money to support African astronomers to attend the Astronomical Union (IAU) General Assembly (GA) on their own continent in 2024. Join us in supporting our efforts to expand...

Chandra Legacy Program: Call for White Papers

27 Nov 2023
The goal of the Chandra Legacy Program is to generate crucial results that require Chandra's unique capabilities to break new scientific ground and/or complement new and far-reaching observations in other wavelength...

Learn How to Peer Review at AAS 243

15 Nov 2023
If you’d like to feel more confident the next time you’re asked by an editor to peer review a paper, consider applying to attend the upcoming AAS Peer Review Training Workshop in New Orleans.

Reimagining the Astronomy PhD for the 21st Century

27 Nov 2023
The Fellows of the National Osterbrock Leadership Program have submitted a white paper to the AAS Board of Trustees advocating substantive changes in the way astronomy departments educate and work with graduate students...

Legislation on Space Debris and Commercialization

16 Nov 2023
The last few months have seen significant legislative action on space activities. In this blog post we discuss these bills, their impact on our community, and the steps the AAS has been taking to advocate our needs to...

The Physicists Coalition for Nuclear Threat Reduction

14 Nov 2023
The Physicists Coalition for Nuclear Threat Reduction aims to inform and engage the physical science community on the rising danger of nuclear weapons. We welcome physical scientists broadly, including astronomers, to...