National Academy of Sciences Honors AAS Members

21 Jan 2021
Dana Longcope will receive the Arctowski Medal for his research in solar physics, and Sheperd Doeleman will share the Henry Draper Medal for his work to image a black hole with the Event Horizon Telescope.

NASA Science to Host Community Town Hall

19 Jan 2021
NASA’s Science Mission Directorate will hold a community town hall meeting at 2 pm EST on Monday, 25 January, to discuss updates to NASA’s science programs, the current status of activities, and the 2021 budget.

Royal Astronomical Society Honors Stars of Astronomy

19 Jan 2021
The RAS Gold Medal in astronomy goes to Prof. Jocelyn Bell Burnell, an Honorary Member of the AAS, who will be invited to give a plenary lecture at a future AAS meeting, just as our Henry Norris Russell Lecturer speaks...

AAS Member Appointed to the National Science Board

19 Jan 2021
AAS member Matthew Malkan (University of California, Los Angeles) has joined the governing body of the National Science Foundation and will advise Congress and the new administration on issues in science and engineering....

AAS Names Recipients of 2021 Awards & Prizes

12 Jan 2021
At its 237th semiannual meeting, held virtually in light of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the AAS announced the recipients of its 2021 prizes for outstanding achievements in research and education.