Education Committee


Alice K. B. Monet, AAS Secretary
Alice K. B. Monet
AAS Secretary

History: Established at the 188th Meeting, June 1996 in Madison, Wisconsin by restructuring the educational activities of the AAS particularly by merging the Astronomy Education Advisory Board and the ad hoc Astronomy Education Policy Board and was named the Astronomy Education Board. The newly constituted term began June 1997. The name changed to the Education Committee in August 2017.

Members: Members will be appointed by the Board of Trustees. Ex-Officio members will include the Director of Education Activities, the Executive Officer, and the President.

There shall be 10 voting members of the Education Committee, nine serving in rotation for terms of three years, dating from the Annual Business Meeting following their election, and the tenth being the Education Committee Chair. Each year the Board of Trustees shall elect new Education Committee Members as required from a slate proposed by the current Education Committee.

Term: Three years, March to March; staggered, from the close of one Annual Members' Meeting to the close of the next Annual Members' Meeting.

Charge: The Education Committee is charged with oversight of the educational activities of the AAS. The Committee will (1) provide advice on educational activities to the Board of Trustees, the Executive Officer, and the Education and Outreach Coordinator, and periodically will (2) examine the full range of educational activities in which the Society and its members are currently involved; (3) review the context in which investments in science education are being made by Federal and State agencies; (4) recommend optimal mechanisms for developing an effective education strategy for the astronomical community; (5) recommend appropriate roles for the AAS in exercising leadership in education; and (6) suggest and implement education-related AAS activities consistent with the mission, goals, and strategic plan of the Society.

The activities of our committee are guided by the recommendations in the 2016 Education Task Force Report.

Board of Trustees Liaison

B. Ashley Zauderer-VanderLey

National Science Foundation
Board Liaison

Term: Jun 2023 – Jun 2024

Committee Chairs

Tania Anderson (She/Her/Hers)

Space Telescope Science Institute

Term: Mar 2021 – Mar 2025

Sanlyn Buxner (she/her)

Planetary Science Institute

Term: Oct 2021 – Oct 2024

Committee Members

Rica Sirbaugh French

MiraCosta College & Center for Astronomy Education

Term: Apr 2024 – Mar 2027

Colin Scott Wallace (He/Him/His)

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Term: Mar 2022 – Mar 2025

Carl Ferkinhoff (They/Them/Theirs)

Winona State University

Term: Mar 2020 – Mar 2026

Meredith A. MacGregor (She/Her/Hers)

Johns Hopkins University

Term: Mar 2022 – Mar 2025

Kate Meredith (She/Her/Hers)

GLAS Education

Term: Mar 2020 – Mar 2026

Katherine B. Follette (She/Her/Hers)

Amherst College

Term: Mar 2020 – Mar 2026

Mallory Conlon (she/her)

Yerkes Observatory

Term: Apr 2024 – Mar 2027

Michael Foley (He/Him/His)

Harvard University / Astrobites

Term: Mar 2022 – Mar 2025

Charles John Law (He/Him/His)

University of Virginia

Term: Apr 2024 – Mar 2027

Rachel Lee McClure (she/her)

University of Wisconsin -- Madison

Term: Apr 2024 – Mar 2027

Joshua P. Tan

LaGuardia Community College

Term: Apr 2024 – Mar 2027

Jameeka Marshall

University of California, Santa Cruz

Term: Apr 2024 – Mar 2027

Justine Schaen


Term: Apr 2024 – Mar 2027

Waylon Troyer (He/Him/His)

Science Museum Oklahoma

Term: Apr 2024 – Mar 2027