Search form

The joint DPS 48 / EPSC 11 meeting will take place 12–21 October 2016 in Pasadena, California. The regular abstract deadline for the meeting is Wednesday, 22 June, at 9:00 pm ET.

01 Jun 2016

AAS Nova provides highlights of recent articles from AJ, ApJ, ApJ Letters, and ApJ Supplements to inform you about discoveries you might otherwise overlook.

31 May 2016

Tune in to a live public webcast from Oslo and New York on Thursday morning, June 2nd, to find out who is receiving the 2016 Kavli Prizes in astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience.

27 May 2016

The spending bills for FY 2017 that include NASA, NSF, and DOE have been approved by the House Appropriations committee and are summarized in this post.

26 May 2016

NSF has issued an NOI to Prepare an Environmental Impact Statement for proposed changes to Arecibo Observatory and is inviting public comments through 23 June via mail, email, and at two public meetings.

25 May 2016

Congratulations to AAS Member Roger Blandford of Stanford University for being awarded the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Astronomy!

23 May 2016

A new report from the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine on the usefulness of CubeSats and the necessity of federal support for such programs is now available.

23 May 2016

The International Astronomical Union Symposia, the scientific flagship of the IAU, are intended to significantly advance the field, seeking answers to the current key questions and/or emerging concepts.

19 May 2016

Based on feedback from attendees of the 228th AAS meeting in Kissimmee, Florida, and the work of the AAS Meetings Task Force, changes to future meetings are in the works.

18 May 2016

Nominations for most AAS prizes and awards for 2017 are due in the Secretary's office by 30 June 2016. All of these prizes and awards are now open to self-nominations, thanks to a recent change in the rules.

17 May 2016