Policy Blog

The AAS Public Policy team uses the Policy Blog to communicate with the membership about current events in the science policy world. The blog is written by the John Bahcall Public Policy Fellow.

Students: Apply for the 2018 CASE Workshop

The AAS seeks applications from upper-level undergraduate and graduate student AAS members for the Catalyzing Advocacy in Science and Engineering Workshop. Deadline: 2 February.

AAS 231 for the Policy Crowd

Your guide to items at the January 2018 AAS meeting that relate to informing and/or developing the public policy that governs federally funded research in the astronomical sciences.

Volunteer for Congressional Visits Day 2018

Are you an AAS member interested in advocating for your science with policymakers? If yes, then you should volunteer for Congressional Visits Day (12-14 March 2018)! Deadline: 26 January 2018.

Of Caps and Continuing Resolutions

We take a look at the stopgap funding measure known as a Continuing Resolution (CR) that passed on Thursday, 7 December, but that keeps the government open only through 22 December 2017.