Policy Blog

The AAS Public Policy team uses the Policy Blog to communicate with the membership about current events in the science policy world. Most policy blog posts are written by the John N. Bahcall Public Policy Fellow.

Final Appropriations for Fiscal Year 2021

26 Jan 2021
Congress passed the final appropriations bill on 21 December, and the President signed it into law on 27 December. Here are some details on the funding for NASA and other federal agencies that support astronomy.

NASA Science to Host Community Town Hall

19 Jan 2021
NASA’s Science Mission Directorate will hold a community town hall meeting at 2 pm EST on Monday, 25 January, to discuss updates to NASA’s science programs, the current status of activities, and the 2021 budget.

AAS Member Appointed to the National Science Board

19 Jan 2021
AAS member Matthew Malkan (University of California, Los Angeles) has joined the governing body of the National Science Foundation and will advise Congress and the new administration on issues in science and engineering...