16 February 2021

Chambliss Student Poster Awards for AAS 237

Richard Fienberg

Richard Fienberg AAS Solar Eclipse Task Force

Chambliss MedalWith the 237th AAS meeting going virtual in January 2021, the Chambliss Astronomy Achievement Student Awards competition involved no printed posters, only digital interactive iPosters, and was held completely online as during AAS 236 last June. The competition attracted 170 undergraduate entries and 96 graduate-student entries.

For many students in the competition, this was their first time presenting at an AAS meeting as well as their first time attending one. Despite the challenges of doing everything remotely, many of our 256 judges said that being a Chambliss judge and interacting with students about their research was rewarding, fun, and gratifying.

Here are the winners of the AAS 237 Chambliss Astronomy Achievement Student Awards:

Graduate Student Medalists

  • Rachel Bowyer (University of Colorado, Boulder)
  • Becky Flores (Georgia State University)
  • Emily Gilbert (University of Chicago)
  • Abigail Lee (University of Chicago)
  • Anna Payne (University of Hawai‘i)
  • Yu-Hsuan Teng (University of California, San Diego)

Graduate Student Honorable Mentions

  • Morgan Chidester (Arizona State University)
  • Lindsay DeMarchi (Northwestern University)
  • Brendan Drachler (Rochester Institute of Technology)
  • Ebraheem Farag (Arizona State University)
  • Ragadeepika Pucha (University of Arizona)
  • Serena Tramm (Rochester Institute of Technology)

Undergraduate Medalists

  • Daniel Brethauer (Northwestern University)
  • Kiana Burton (Temple University)
  • William Cerny (University of Chicago)
  • Vedant Chandra (Johns Hopkins University)
  • Adrian Crawford (University of Texas, Austin)
  • Zoe de Beurs (University of Texas, Austin)
  • Anna Estes (University of Colorado, Boulder)
  • Ruby Fulford (University of Arizona)
  • Kassidy Kollmann (University of Maryland, Baltimore County)
  • Mariarosa Marinelli (Virginia Commonwealth University)
  • Michael Messere (University of Michigan)
  • Nabeel Rehemtulla (University of Michigan)
  • Aniket Sanghi (University of Texas, Austin)
  • Ezra Sukay (University of Chicago)
  • Elizabeth Yunerman (University of California, Santa Cruz)

Undergraduate Honorable Mentions

  • Hollis Akins (Grinnell College)
  • William Balmer (Amherst College)
  • Delondrae Carter (Arizona State University)
  • Camille Cartwright (St. Mary's College of Maryland)
  • Leonardo Clarke (University of Minnesota)
  • Serena Cronin (Ohio State University)
  • Samuel Gunther (Villanova University)
  • Jacqueline Hernandez (Texas Christian University)
  • Imaan I. Rahim (Cornell University)
  • Mary Jimenez (George Mason University)
  • Alexander Johnson (Pacific Lutheran University)
  • Alexandra Kwon (University of California, Los Angeles)
  • Kyubin Kwon (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Alexa Morales (Florida International University)
  • Elias Oakes (University of Chicago)
  • Debosmita Pathak (Grinnell College)
  • Rafid Quayum (Montclair High School)
  • Emily Silich (University of Iowa)
  • Meredith Stone (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
  • Andrew Thomas (Stanford University)
  • Maire Volz (University of Colorado, Boulder)
  • Tobin Wainer (University of Utah)
  • Amanda Wasserman (University of Rochester)
  • Mikayla Wilson (Texas Christian University)
  • Anna Zuckerman (Brown University)

Congratulations, all! On behalf of our Society and of all the students who entered the AAS 237 Chambliss competition, we thank our volunteer judges who were so flexible in being assigned, judging iPosters, and returning scores.

If you haven't signed up to judge student posters in the past or in a while, we encourage you to do so in the future — the more judges we have, the fewer posters each judge is responsible for judging, and the more scheduling flexibility we have. Your next opportunity will be at the 238th AAS meeting, which will again be virtual, in June 2021. You can indicate your willingness to judge iPosters when you submit your abstract, when you register for the meeting, or by following the link that'll be included in future announcements.