Search form

Congratulations to the AAS 232 Chambliss Student Awards Winners

Tuesday, June 26, 2018 - 13:25

The latest Chambliss Astronomy Achievement Student Awards poster competition, which occurred in June during the 232nd AAS meeting in Denver, Colorado, was small but mighty, consisting of four separate competitions! With the addition of iPosters to our meetings, we’ve now added separate iPoster competitions within both the Graduate and Undergraduate competition categories. In all, there were 30 students entered in the Chambliss competition – 12 undergraduates and 18 graduates – along with 31 member volunteer judges!!

As usual, student posters were evaluated during the morning coffee breaks and afternoon poster sessions of the first three science days of the meeting; for Denver, this was Monday through Wednesday.

For many students in the competition, this was their first time presenting at one of the AAS meetings, as well as their first time attending one, but you wouldn't know that from the many comments I heard from judges! Judges expressed, as usual, that being a Chambliss judge, and talking with students about their work, was a very rewarding, fun, and gratifying experience, which allowed them to not only interact with students but also focus on some science they might not have otherwise had the time to.

So, if you haven't signed up to judge student posters in the past, or in a while, I encourage you to do so in the future! The more judges we have, the fewer posters each judge is responsible for judging! Your next opportunity will be at the 233rd AAS meeting in Seattle, Washington, 6–10 January 2019.

Here are the results from Denver:

Graduate Student Medal Winners (Traditional Poster)
  • Ryan Cole (University of Colorado Boulder)
  • Hayley Roberts (University of Colorado Boulder)
  • Aaron Stemo (University of Colorado Boulder)
  • Girish Duvvuri (University of Colorado Boulder)

Graduate Student Honorable Mention (Traditional Poster)
  • Jennie Paine (University of Colorado Boulder)

Graduate Student Medal Winner (iPoster)
  • Matthew Hankins (Cornell University)

Graduate Student Honorable Mention (iPoster)
  • Tristan Wolfe (University of Denver)

Undergraduate Student Medal Winners (Traditional Poster)
  • Rachel O'Connor (Smith College)
  • Sam Jenkins (Elon University)
  • Christian Hannah (Central Michigan University)

Undergraduate Student Honorable Mention (Traditional Poster)
  • Alex Scrabeck (Winona State University)

Undergraduate Student Medal Winner (iPoster)
  • Anthony Curtis (Northern Arizona University)

Congratulations, all! On behalf of our Society and all of the students who entered the AAS 232 Chambliss competition, I would like to thank our volunteer judges, with a special thanks to those who volunteered onsite to replace judges who had last-minute schedule changes. I would also like to thank the AAS Executive Office staff who helped to make this very important competition such a big success.

Gina Brissenden
Education & Outreach Coordinator
American Astronomical Society (AAS)
AAS Controlled Subject Tags: