13 February 2017

Results of the 2017 AAS Election

George Benedict

Voting in the AAS election of officers and councilors for terms beginning in 2017 closed on 1 February. Of the 7,162 members eligible to cast ballots, 1,430 members (20%) voted. If you were one of these voters, thank you! If not, we hope you’ll exercise your right to vote in future elections. Our officers and councilors help decide the Society's direction and goals. The best way to ensure that your voice is heard is to participate in Society elections.

Here are this year’s winners; all will take office this summer, except for the newly elected members of the Nominating Committee, whose terms begin immediately:

Megan Donahue
Michael Strauss
Doris Daou
Nominating Committee
Ryan C. Hickox
Nominating Committee
Nancy Morrison
Marcel Agüeros
Kelle Cruz
Kelsey Johnson
John (Jay) S. Gallagher lll

We are grateful to all of the AAS members who agreed to stand for election, and we congratulate our new officers and councilors. We look forward to benefiting from their wisdom and energy in the years ahead!