238th meeting

Press Information

Virtually Anywhere
238th meeting of the American Astronomical Society
Virtually Anywhere
7 – 9 June 2021

The AAS offers complimentary meeting registration to working journalists and public information officers (PIOs), as described on our press information page. To request press registration, first check our eligibility criteria, then contact AAS Press Officer Dr. Rick Fienberg to obtain a valid promotional code. Press registration deadline: Thursday, 3 June 2021.

Note: Press registration will still be possible after 3 June, but we likely won’t be able to respond to requests promptly, leaving you without login credentials and unable to join the conference until our staff can process your registration request.

AAS 238 Press Registrants

  1. Robert Elliott Adler (Science & Technology Writer)
  2. Ellis A. Avallone (University of Hawaii / Astrobites)
  3. Javier Barbuzano (Freelance)
  4. Meghan Bartels (Space.com)
  5. Damond  Benningfield (StarDate Radio/Magazine)
  6. Hannah Braun (Space Telescope Science Institute)
  7. Caitlyn Buongiorno (Astronomy Magazine)
  8. Camille Carlisle (Sky & Telescope)
  9. Jamie Carter (Forbes)
  10. Davide Castelvecchi (Nature)
  11. Yvette Cendes (University of Leiden / University of Toronto)
  12. May Chiao (Nature Astronomy)
  13. Whitney Clavin (Caltech)
  14. Stephen Clark (Spaceflight Now)
  15. Daniel Clery (Science Magazine)
  16. Calla Cofield (NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory)
  17. John Alan Cohan (Freelance)
  18. Leah Crane (New Scientist)
  19. Paul Deans (Astronomical Society of the Pacific)
  20. Mithi De Los Reyes (Caltech)
  21. Bas Den Hond (The Economist & Trouw)
  22. Nadia Drake (Freelance / National Geographic)
  23. Peter Edmonds (Center for Astrophysics | Harvard & Smithsonian)
  24. Leo Enright (Irish TV)
  25. Cassandra Eichner (National Science Foundation)
  26. Dan Falk (Freelance)
  27. Suraiya Farukhi (Universities Space Research Association)
  28. Becky Ferreira (Motherboard / VICE)
  29. Richard Tresch Fienberg (AAS Press Officer)
  30. David G. Finley (National Radio Astronomy Observatory)
  31. Alan Fischer (Planetary Science Institute)
  32. Daniel Fischer (Freelance)
  33. Jeff Foust (SpaceNews)
  34. Andrew Fraknoi (Freelance / Textbook Author)
  35. Hideaki Fujiwara (Subaru Telescope, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan)
  36. Pamela L. Gay (Planetary Science Institute)
  37. W. Wayt Gibbs (Scientific American)
  38. Donald W. Goldsmith (Interstellar Media)
  39. Noreen A. Grice (You Can Do Astronomy, LLC)
  40. Lisa Grossman (Science News)
  41. Cheryl Gundy (Space Telescope Science Institute)
  42. Don Hladiuk (Canadian Broadcasting Corp.)
  43. Macy J. Huston (Pennsylvania State University / Astrobites)
  44. Randall Hyman (Freelance)
  45. Nan Janney (National Radio Astronomy Observatory)
  46. Beth Johnson (SETI Institute / Planetary Science Institute)
  47. Mathew Kaplan (The Planetary Society / Planetary Radio)
  48. Marios Karouzos (Nature Astronomy)
  49. Alison J. Klesman (Astronomy Magazine)
  50. Irene Klotz (Aviation Week & Space Technology)
  51. Brian Koberlein (National Radio Astronomy Observatory)
  52. Susanna Kohler (AAS Nova Editor)
  53. Tarini Konchady (AAS Media Fellow)
  54. Fran Konitzer (Freelance)
  55. Marina Koren (The Atlantic)
  56. Katherine Kornei (Freelance)
  57. Laurel E. Kornfeld (Spaceflight Insider)
  58. Liz Kruesi (Freelance / Mercury Magazine)
  59. Larry Krumenaker (The Galactic Times)
  60. Karen Kwon (Inside Science)
  61. Lauren Lipuma (United States Antarctic Program)
  62. Dirk H. Lorenzen (German Public Radio)
  63. Rick Lovett (Freelance)
  64. Eric C. Mack (Freelance / CNET)
  65. Jill Malusky (Green Bank Observatory)
  66. Adam Mann (Freelance)
  67. Laurence A. Marschall (Freelance)
  68. Domenico Matarazzo (Facto Edizioni)
  69. James Maynard (The Cosmic Companion)
  70. Morgan McFall-Johnsen (Business Insider)
  71. Nicole Mortillaro (CBC News)
  72. Steve Murray (Freelance)
  73. Joan R. Najita (NSF's NOIRLab)
  74. Jonathan O'Callaghan (Freelance)
  75. Madeleine O'Keefe (Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison / IceCube)
  76. Amy Carissa Oliver (National Radio Astronomy Observatory)
  77. Dennis E. Overbye (New York Times)
  78. Anil Oza (Science Magazine)
  79. Jacob C. Parks (Astronomy Magazine)
  80. Neel Patel (MIT Technology Review)
  81. Carolyn Collins Petersen (Loch Ness Productions)
  82. Natasha Pinol (NASA Headquarters)
  83. Corey S. Powell (Discover)
  84. Christine E. Pulliam (Space Telescope Science Institute)
  85. Passant Rabie (Inverse)
  86. Martin  Ratcliffe (Wichita State University / Freelance)
  87. Stefanie Reichert (Nature Physics)
  88. Doyle Rice (USA Today)
  89. Matteo P. Rini (American Physical Society)
  90. Jackson Ryan (CNET)
  91. Sabina Sagynbayeva (Stony Brook University / Astrobites)
  92. Lee Sandberg (Institute for Advanced Study)
  93. Govert Schilling (Freelance)
  94. Isaac Schultz (Gizmodo)
  95. Ethan R. Siegel (Starts With a Bang / Forbes)
  96. Lauren A. Sgro (University of Georgia / Astrobites)
  97. Ramin A. Skibba (Freelance)
  98. Daniel Stolte (University of Arizona)
  99. Ashley Strickland (CNN)
  100. Maria C. Temming (Science News)
  101. Nilda Oklay Vincent (Nature Communications)
  102. William H. Waller (The Galactic Inquirer)
  103. Megan Watzke (Chandra X-ray Center)
  104. John Wenz (Inverse.com)
  105. Nadia Whitehead (Center for Astrophysics | Harvard & Smithsonian)
  106. Alexandra Witze (Freelance)
  107. Monica Young (Sky & Telescope)
  108. Luna Zagorac (Yale University / Astrobites)
  109. Mark Zastrow (Astronomy Magazine)
  110. Robert Zimmerman (Freelance)