31 January 2022

AAS Members Elected as 2022 AAAS Fellows

Kerry Hensley

Kerry Hensley American Astronomical Society (AAS)

This post is adapted from a 31 January 2023 press release of the American Association for the Advancement of Science:

AAAS LogoThe American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has elected 505 scientists, engineers, and innovators to the 2022 class of AAAS Fellows, a lifetime distinction that honors their invaluable contributions to science and technology. Among these honorees are a number of AAS members:

  • Catherine C. Espaillat, Boston University
  • Gary Joseph Ferland, University of Kentucky
  • Catharine D. Garmany, National Optical-Infrared Astronomy Research Laboratory
  • Saurabh W. Jha, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • Priyamvada Natarajan, Yale University
  • Joel Parriott, American Astronomical Society/NSF/Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • Robert Rosner, University of Chicago
  • Rita Maria Sambruna, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Tommaso Treu, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Ethan Tecumseh Vishniac, American Astronomical Society/Johns Hopkins University
  • Jennifer Wiseman, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Dennis Zaritsky, University of Arizona
  • Nicolle E.B. Zellner, Albion College

If you're a new AAAS Fellow and are missing from this list, please email Kerry Hensley, AAS Deputy Press Officer, and she'll remedy the omission. (Sometimes an AAS member is elected by a section other than Astronomy, making it harder to spot them!)

AAAS Fellow RosetteFellows are elected each year by their peers serving on the Council of AAAS, the organization’s member-run governing body. The 2022 group will receive a certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin (representing science and engineering, respectively) to commemorate their election, and will be celebrated in Washington, DC, in Summer 2023. They will also be featured in the AAAS News & Notes section of Science in February 2023. The honor recognizes diverse accomplishments, including pioneering research, leadership within a given field, teaching and mentoring, fostering collaborations, and advancing public understanding of science.

The tradition of electing AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Since then, the recognition has gone to thousands of distinguished scientists, such as astronomer Maria Mitchell, elected in 1875, inventor Thomas Edison (1878), anthropologist Margaret Mead (1934), computer scientist Grace Hopper (1963), and popular science author Jared Diamond (2000).

The full list of 2022 AAAS Fellows is available here.

Related Posts