Search form

The Tinsley Prize recognizes an outstanding research contribution to astronomy or astrophysics, of an exceptionally creative or innovative character. The prize is normally awarded every two years, and prize nominations are due by 30 June the preceding year. No restrictions are placed on a candidate's citizenship or country of residency.

Donate to the Beatrice M. Tinsley Prize Fund

Nomination Checklist

Beatrice M. Tinsley Prize Committee

Photo of Julianne Dalcanton2018 – Julianne Dalcanton
For her pioneering use of large surveys to study low-surface-brightness galaxies and her leadership in developing Hubble Space Telescope surveys to create a legacy of data on resolved stellar populations of nearby galaxies.
Photo of Andrew Gould2016 – Andrew Gould
For his development of gravitational microlensing as an important tool for the discovery and characterization of exoplanets.
Photo of Chris Lintott2014 – Chris Lintott
For his insight and creativity that created a transformative approach to science by engaging nonscientists in cutting edge research.
Photo of Ronald L. Gilliland2012 – Ronald L. Gilliland
For his innovative work on ultra-high signal-to-noise observations related to time-domain photometry and the opening of this new frontier.
Photo of Drake Deming2010 – Drake Deming
For his innovative and pioneering work detecting thermal infrared emission from transiting extrasolar planets using the Spitzer Space Telescope.
Year Recipient(s) Citation
2008 Mark Reid For his precision astrometry experiments with the VLBI and the VLBA and his pioneering use of cosmic masers as astronomical tools.  His innovative research in radio astronomy has enhanced our understanding of the processes in star forming regions and has resulted in primary distance measurements throughout the Local Group of galaxies.
2006 John E. Carlstrom For his innovative work on the use of interferometry to study the early Universe through CMB fluctuations and polarimetry and the Sunyaev-Zeldovich effect. He has produced results that strongly constrain cosmological models of the amount and nature of dark matter and energy and the influence of cosmic inflation.
2004 Ronald J. Reynolds For his discovery of the warm ionized medium in our Galaxy using Fabry-Perot spectroscopy, his leadership in understanding its origins and for his development of the Wisconsin H-Alpha Mapper that has revealed its spatial structure.

Geoffrey W. Marcy, R. Paul Butler,
Steven S. Vogt

For their pioneering work in characterizing planetary systems orbiting distant stars.
2000 Charles Alcock For his intellectual leadership of the MACHO project, both scientifically and technically.
1998 Robert E. Williams  
1996 Aleksander Wolszczan  
1994 Raymond Davis  
1992 Robert H. Dicke  
1990 Antoine Labeyrie  
1988 Harold I. Ewen, Edward M. Purcell  
1986 S. Jocelyn Bell Burnell