Beatrice M. Tinsley Prize Committee


Alice Monet
Alice K. B. Monet
AAS Secretary


History: Established January, 1985.

Members: Five members (of which two shall have served on the committee in the term immediately prior), nominated every two years by the Appointments Committee for approval by the Board of Trustees in January (of odd-numbered years).

Term: Two-year term, starting in January.

Chair: Nominated by Appointments Committee from among the five nominees and approved by the Board of Trustees in January. Shall not serve simultaneously on either the Russell, Heineman, or Warner/Pierce Prize Committees.

Charge: Nominates for Board of Trustee approval candidates for the Beatrice M. Tinsley Memorial Prize.

About the Prize: In honor of Beatrice Tinsley's unique achievements in the science of astronomy, the Tinsley Prize recognizes an outstanding research contribution by an individual, or individuals, to astronomy or astrophysics. Consistent with Tinsley's own work, the award focuses on contributions that are of an exceptionally creative or innovative character and that have played a seminal role in furthering our understanding of the universe.

The prize is usually awarded every two years. It can be awarded irrespective of the candidate's citizenship or country of residency or career stage.


Committee Members