Award for Public Service to the Astronomical Sciences

The AAS Award for Public Service to the Astronomical Sciences is given at most annually to up to two individuals who have performed outstanding public service in support of astronomy, planetary science, and related fields.


Candidates for the award should have demonstrated outstanding leadership and accomplishment in the development of science policy, particularly in support of astronomical research and education. The award may not be given posthumously. Current members of the Board of Trustees or the Committee on Astronomy and Public Policy (CAPP) are not eligible.

Selection Process

The CAPP will serve as the nominating committee for the award. At its discretion, the CAPP may solicit nominations from the membership. The nomination package should include a CV or biographical sketch and a narrative justification. Each nomination will be forwarded to the Board of Trustees for review and approval.

Year Recipient(s) Citation
2013 Sen. Barbara A. Mikulski (D-MD) For her leadership and steadfast support of science and technology, and in particular the astronomical sciences, in the United States.