Current Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the AAS and is responsible for the management, direction, and control of the affairs and the property of the AAS. The official record of Board actions and resolutions is kept in the AAS Secretary's Office.


Paula Szkody

University of Washington

Term: Jun 2020 – Jun 2022

Kelsey Johnson

Kelsey Johnson

President Elect
University of Virginia

Term: Jun 2021 – Jun 2022

Geoffrey C Clayton

Geoffrey C. Clayton

Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge
Senior Vice President

Term: Jun 2019 – Jun 2022

Stephen Unwin

JPL, California Institute of Technology
Second Vice President

Term: Jun 2020 – Jun 2023

Adam Burgasser, Professor, Univ. of California, San Diego

Adam Burgasser

UC San Diego
Third Vice President

Term: Jun 2021 – Jun 2024

Doris Daou

NASA Planetary Science Division

Term: Jun 2020 – Jun 2026

Alice K. B. Monet

US Naval Observatory (retired)

Term: Jun 2019 – Jun 2025

Kevin Marvel

American Astronomical Society
Executive Officer

Term: Jun 2006 – Present

At-Large Trustees

Hannah Jang-Condell

Hannah Jang-Condell

University of Wyoming

Term: Jun 2019 – Jun 2022

Edmund Bertschinger


Term: Jun 2020 – Jun 2023

WGLE interviews: Jane Rigby

Jane Rigby

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Term: Jun 2021 – Jun 2024

Gregory-Louis (Lou) Strolger

Louis-Gregory Strolger

Space Telescope Science Institute

Term: Jun 2021 – Jun 2024