Russell Lectureship Committee


Alice K. B. Monet, AAS Secretary
Alice K. B. Monet
AAS Secretary

Members: Expanded to six members. Two new members nominated each year. Chair of the Heineman Prize Committee is ex-officio.

Term: Three years, January-December

Chair: One of the two senior members of the Committee, selected by the Board of Trustees.

Charge: Nominates candidates for the Henry Norris Russell Lectureship. Awardees are chosen for a lifetime of eminence in astronomical research. Expanded to proposing new Honorary members for Board of Trustees approval.

"Noting that the Warner/Pierce Prizes are for junior astronomers, that the Heineman Prize has been established as a mid-career award, and that the Russell Lectureship traditionally has been for senior astronomers, the [Board of Trustees] requests the Warner/Pierce Prize Committee, the Heineman Prize Committee, and the Russell Lectureship Committee to take full note of this distinction in making each annual choice."

Committee Chair

Catherine A. Pilachowski


Term: Jan 2019 – Dec 2021

Committee Members

C. Megan Urry

Term: Jan 2020 – Dec 2022

Amy J. Barger

Term: Jan 2020 – Dec 2022