Joseph Weber Award Committee


Alice K. B. Monet, AAS Secretary
Alice K. B. Monet
AAS Secretary

History: Established in 2001. The first award was bestowed in 2002.

Members: Appointed in January by the Board of Trustees.

Term: Three years, June to June.

Chair: Appointed by the Board of Trustees. Serves from one annual business meeting to the next: June - June.

Charge: Nominates candidates for the Joseph Weber Award for Astronomical Instrumentation.

About the Prize: The AAS's Joseph Weber Award for Astronomical Instrumentation is to be awarded to an individual, of any nationality, for the design, invention or significant improvement of instrumentation (not software) leading to advances in astronomy. No restrictions are placed on a candidate's citizenship or country of residency.

In order that the scientific impact of the instrumentation may be assessed properly, a considerable period of time may have elapsed between the development of the instrumentation and the granting of the Award.

Committee Members

Katharine Reeves

Center for Astrophysics | Harvard & Smithsonian

Term: Jun 2020 – Jun 2023