Finance Committee

History: Established under new AAS Bylaws in 2018, Section 4.18.

Members: The members of the AAS Audit Committee and two additional AAS members selected by the Board of Trustees who are not members of the Board of Trustees.

Term: Except for the Treasurer, the Trustee members shall serve no more than three years unless selected by the Board of Trustees after ceasing to be a Trustee. The non-trustee members serve at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.

Chair: The Treasurer of the Society shall be the Chair of the Finance Committee.

Charge: The Finance Committee shall be responsible for, subject to oversight by the Board of Trustees, overseeing the development of the operating budget of the Society and submitting a recommended budget for approval by the Board of Trustees; monitoring the Society‚Äôs investments and its adherence to the budget; and performing such other duties as determined by policy of the Board of Trustees. The Finance Committee shall report on the budget, investments, and activities of the Finance Committee to the Board of Trustees.

Committee Chair

Doris Daou

NASA HQ - Planetary Science Division

Term: Jun 2020 – Jun 2026

Committee Members

Louis-Gregory Strolger

Space Telescope Science Institute

Term: Jun 2021 – Jun 2024

B. Ashley Zauderer-VanderLey

National Science Foundation

Term: Jun 2023 – Jun 2024

Dara J. Norman (She/Her/Hers)


Term: Jun 2023 – Jun 2024