Audit Committee


Alice K. B. Monet, AAS Secretary
Alice K. B. Monet
AAS Secretary

History: Established under new AAS Bylaws in 2018, Section 4.16.

Members: Three members of the Board of Trustees. The Committee Chair shall not be the Treasurer.

Term: No more than three years.

Charge: The Audit Committee shall be responsible for overseeing any audit, review or compilation of the Society’s books and records; recommending to the Board of Trustees the selection, retention, termination, and compensation of any accounting firm to perform such audits; taking appropriate actions to promote a system of internal controls relating to the Society’s financial books and records, including retaining any accounting firm to formally review such controls; and performing such other duties as determined by policy of the Board of Trustees. The Audit Committee shall report the results of audits, control reviews, and the Audit Committee’s activities to the Board of Trustees and shall submit any final audit report to the full Board of Trustees for its approval.

Committee Chair

Committee Members

Daniel A. Dale (He/Him/His)

University of Wyoming

Term: Jun 2024 – Jun 2027

Gregory Rudnick

University of Kansas

Term: Jun 2024 – Jun 2027

Doris Daou

NASA Astrophysics Division
ex officio

Term: Jun 2020 – Jun 2026

B. Ashley Zauderer-VanderLey

National Science Foundation

Term: Jun 2022 – Jun 2025

Are you a member interested in volunteering with the AAS? Let us know!

Volunteer Opportunities