Search form

Dannie Heineman Prize Committee

History: The American Astronomical Society joined with the American Institute of Physics in 1978 to award a prize to recognize an individual who had made a series of major contributions to astronomy and/or astrophysics.

Members: Six members, each serving for three years. Two new members are nominated by the Appointments Committee for Council approval each January. The chair of the Russell Lectureship Committee is a non-voting, Ex-Officio member.

Term: Three years, Jan. - Dec., as practiced, one January Council meeting to another.

Chair: One year, Jan. - Dec., as practiced, one January Council meeting to another. One of the two senior committee members will be Chair in their last year.

Charge: Nominates candidates for the Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics.

"Noting that the Warner/Pierce Prizes are for junior astronomers, that the Heineman Prize has been established as a mid-career award, and that the Russell Lectureship traditionally has been for senior astronomers, recognized for lifetime achievement, the Council requests that the Warner/Pierce Prize Committee, the Heineman Prize Committee, and the Russell Lectureship Committee take full note of this distinction in making their annual choices."

Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics

Committee members