Search form

Site Visit Oversight Committee (SVOC)

History: Established 2017.

Members: The Chairs of each AAS Diversity Committee (currently CSMA, CSWA, SGMA, and WGAD) and the AAS President each appoint one person to the Oversight Committee, subject to approval by the Board of Trustees. The Committee may appoint two additional members who are experts in protocols and procedures relevant for climate site visits, also subject to Board approval.

Term: Three years, June business meeting to June business meeting.

Chair: Elected by committee, subject to approval by the Board of Trustees; three year term, from the June business meeting to June business meeting.

Charge: The Oversight Committee for Astronomy Department Climate Site Visits develops protocols appropriate for climate site visits and ensures proper training for the Site-Visit Team. Site-Visits are initiated by invitation from a department chair to the AAS President or any member of the Oversight Committee. When an invitation is received, the Oversight Committee will select members of a Climate Site-Visit team and appoint a chair for the team. The charge to the Site-Visit team is to evaluate the climate for marginalized groups within the department and to offer suggestions for improvement in the climate. The Site-Visit team will use a survey of departmental members, information provided to the team by the department, and meetings between the team and department members. The team will write a confidential report to the department chair and the chair of the Oversight Committee detailing the findings of the visit and offering practical suggestions for improving the climate for marginalized groups. More detailed information is available here:
   AAS Climate Site ­Visits of Astronomy Departments – Goals
   AAS Climate Site ­Visits of Astronomy Departments – Policy and Procedure


Stuart Vogel

Committee members

  • Alicia Aarnio, Chair (Jun 2017 - Jun 2020)
    University of North Carolina, Greensboro
    PO Box 26170
    Greensboro, NC 27402-6170 United States
    Fax: 336-334-5865
    Note: WGAD-nominated
  • Nicole Cabrera, Chair (Jun 2017 - Jun 2020)
    Movement Consulting

    Atlanta, GA United States

    Note: CSMA-nominated
  • Sheryl Bruff (Jun 2017 - Jun 2020); Note: Elected by committee
  • KeShawn Ivory (Mar 2018 - Jun 2020); Note: SGMA-nominated
  • Nancy D. Morrison (Jun 2017 - Jun 2020); Note: Nominated by the AAS President
  • Stuart N. Vogel (Jun 2017 - Jun 2020); Note: CSWA-nominated