Search form

Warning message

Please note that this article is no longer current, but is being displayed for archival purposes.

Nominations Solicited for the 2018 Lecar Prize

Monday, October 2, 2017 - 09:17

The Lecar Prize selection committee is soliciting nominations for future recipients of the Lecar Prize. Nominations should be in the form of a simple, brief letter, preferably sent by email to Matthew Holman. There is no restriction on the age of the recipient, though the award will not be given posthumously. Nominations received by 5 November 2017 will be considered for the 2018 Lecar Prize and will be valid for five years.

The Lecar Prize was endowed by a generous gift from the estate of Myron S. Lecar to encourage and recognize exceptional contributions to the study of extrasolar planets in particular and theoretical astrophysics in general. The recipient receives an honorarium and delivers a lecture at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. The first Lecar Prize recipients were Prof. Douglas N. C. Lin (University of California, Santa Cruz) in 2014, Prof. Tsevi Mazeh (Tel Aviv University) in 2015, Prof. Eric Agol (University of Washington) in 2016, and Dr. Natalie Batalha (NASA Ames Research Center) in 2017. Learn more about the prize and see videos of past lectures on the Lecar Prize page.

Matthew J. Holman
Harvard-Smithsonian, CfA
AAS Controlled Subject Tags: