21 August 2013

Kavli Prize Nominations Open 1 September

Crystal Tinch American Astronomical Society (AAS)

Nominations for the 2014 Kavli prizes will open 1 September 2013 and close 1 December 2013. These prizes, administered by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, consist of a cash prize of $1 million, a gold medal, and a scroll in each of three fields: astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience.

The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics is awarded for outstanding achievement in advancing our knowledge and understanding of the origin, evolution, and properties of the universe, including the fields of cosmology, astrophysics, astronomy, planetary science, solar physics, space science, astrobiology, astronomical and astrophysical instrumentation, and particle astrophysics. Recent laureates:

  • 2012: David Jewitt, Jane Luu, and Michael E. Brown for discovering and characterizing the Kuiper Belt and its largest members;
  • 2010: Jerry Nelson, Ray Wilson, and Roger Angel for their contributions to the development of giant telescopes;
  • 2008: Maarten Schmidt and Donald Lynden-Bell for their seminal contributions to understanding the nature of quasars.

The winners of the 2014 Kavli prizes will be announced in May/June 2014, and the award ceremony will take place in Oslo, Norway, on 9 September 2014.

For full information and details on how to submit a nomination visit The Kavli Prize webpage.