3 May 2023

AAS Members Elected to the National Academy of Sciences

This announcement is adapted from a National Academies press release.

National Academy of Sciences
National Academy of Sciences Website Banner

The National Academy of Sciences has announced the election of 120 new members and 23 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Among those newly elected are several AAS and Division members:

  1. Glennys R. Farrar (New York University)
  2. Christine A. Jones Forman (Center for Astrophysics | Harvard & Smithsonian)
  3. William B. McKinnon (Washington University in St. Louis)
  4. Alexander S. Szalay (Johns Hopkins University)
  5. David Weinberg (Ohio State University)
  6. Françoise Combes (Collège de France and Paris Observatory); elected as an international member

Those elected today bring the total number of active members to 2,565 and the total number of international members to 526. International members are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine — provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

The AAS congratulates all the astrophysicists, solar physicists, and planetary scientists elected to this prestigious institution!

Note: If you are a new NAS member and are missing from this list, please email us and we'll remedy the omission!