1 December 2022

Call for Nominations for the 2023 Gruber Prize

Gruber Foundation

A. Sarah Hreha
The Gruber Foundation

The Gruber Foundation invites nominations on behalf of individuals whose achievements in Cosmology, Genetics, or Neuroscience would make them suitable candidates for recognition through the 2023 Gruber International Prize Program. Each prize, which is accompanied by a $500,000 unrestricted monetary award, is designed both to recognize groundbreaking work in each field and to inspire additional efforts that affect fundamental shifts in knowledge and culture. Recipients are selected by a committee of distinguished experts in each field. We encourage nominations that reflect the breadth of the fields and the diversity of those working within them.

Gruber Foundation

Nomination forms for each field can be completed and submitted online. The deadline for nominations is 15 December 2022.

The Gruber Cosmology Prize honors a leading cosmologist, astronomer, astrophysicist, or scientific philosopher for theoretical, analytical, conceptual, or observational discoveries leading to fundamental advances in our understanding of the universe.

Since 2001, the Cosmology Prize has been cosponsored by the International Astronomical Union.

The Cosmology Prize acknowledges and encourages further exploration in a field that shapes the way we perceive and comprehend our universe. In doing so, The Gruber Foundation seeks to extend the pioneering legacy of, among others, Plato and Aristotle; Ptolemy and Copernicus; Brahe, Kepler, and Galileo; Newton and Halley; Einstein and Hubble.

The gold medal and unrestricted $500,000 cash prize are presented annually.

Further information on the Foundation and the individual Prizes is available on The Gruber Foundation web page.