24 February 2022

Eve Lee Awarded 2022 Annie Jump Cannon Award

Susanna Kohler

Susanna Kohler American Astronomical Society (AAS)

Professor Eve Lee of McGill UniversityThe American Astronomical Society’s 2022 Annie Jump Cannon Award in Astronomy has been awarded to Eve Lee (McGill University) for her illuminating work on the formation of stars, debris disks, and planets. The Award’s selection committee pronounced that “Dr. Lee’s piercing insight, curiosity, and ability to distill complex processes into key concepts have enabled her to make pioneering strides in understanding the formation of planetary systems.”

The Annie Jump Cannon Award recognizes outstanding research and promise for future research by a female researcher within five years after earning her PhD. Lee completed her PhD in astrophysics at University of California, Berkeley in 2017 with a thesis titled “The Late-Time Formation and Dynamical Signatures of Small Planets.” She held postdoctoral scholar positions at both UC Berkeley and the California Institute of Technology (where she was appointed the Sherman Fairchild Postdoctoral Scholar in Theoretical Physics/Astrophysics). As of 2019, Lee is an Assistant Professor at McGill University.


Related Post