29 December 2021

Vote in the 2022 AAS Election!

Diane Frendak

Diane Frendak American Astronomical Society (AAS)

The 2022 AAS election is now underway. This year, eligible members will be voting for a new Vice President, a new At-Large Trustee, a new USNC/IAU Representative, and two new Nominating Committee members. Who you elect matters, as they manage, direct, inform, and control the affairs of the Society. Your vote counts, so please exercise it and encourage your colleagues to cast their ballots.

Members eligible to vote in the AAS election should have received an email with a set of login credentials specifically for the voting portal (eBallot) and includes links to statements from all the candidates. The last reminder to vote was emailed on Wednesday, 29 December, at 2:30 pm ET. Look for a message from "AAS Secretary" — please check your spam folder if you do not see it in your inbox.

If you would prefer to use a paper ballot, you may request one from the membership department.

We are grateful to the following AAS members who have agreed to stand for election:

Vice President (term: 3 years starting June 2022; positions open: 1)

The Vice Presidents, as representatives of the Board of Trustees, are responsible for the overall scientific content of the Society's major meetings. They select invited speakers, review proposals for special sessions, and support and advise the Executive Officer in maintaining the scientific quality of the program. Current Vice Presidents: Geoffrey C. Clayton (June 2019-June 2022); Stephen Unwin (June 2020-June 2023); Adam Burgasser (June 2021-June 2024).

At-Large Trustee (term: 3 years starting June 2022; positions open: 1)

As members of the governing board of the AAS, At-Large Trustees have the legal responsibility to manage, direct, and control the affairs and property of the Society. Within the limits of the Bylaws, the Board of Trustees determines the policies of the Society and changes to them, and it has discretion in the disbursement of the Society's funds. Current At-Large Trustees: Hannah Jang-Condell (June 2019-June 2022); Edmund Bertschinger (June 2020-June 2023); Jane Rigby and Louis-Gregory Strolger (June 2021-June 2024).

USNC/IAU (term: 3 years starting September 2022; positions open: 1)

The US National Committee for the International Astronomical Union represents the interests of the US astronomical community and safeguards the intellectual vigor of the Union.

Nominating Committee (term: 2 years starting February 2022; positions open: 2)

The Nominating Committee prepares slates of candidates for Officers and Trustees as specified in the Bylaws. Current Committee Members: Megan Donahue, Chair (June 2020-June 2022); Daniela Calzetti and Karen L. Masters (Feb 2020-Feb 2022); Jennifer J. Wiseman and Sarah Ballard (Feb 2021-Feb 2023).

Vote todayBalloting closes at 11:59 pm ET on 2 February 2022.