11 October 2021

Call for Nominations for SPD Hale and Harvey Prizes

Neelab Yousafzai

Neelab Yousafzai American Astronomical Society (AAS)

George Ellery Hale Prize Program is Now Open for 2021

Nominations are sought for the George Ellery Hale Prize. The Solar Physics Division (SPD) of the American Astronomical Society awards this honorary prize, in memory of George Ellery Hale, to a scientist for outstanding contributions over an extended period of time to the field of solar astronomy. In considering candidates, the prize committee is guided by the impact of the candidate's research in solar physics, general astronomy, geophysics, mathematics, and physics. Any living scientist is eligible to receive the award without consideration of race, sex, nationality, or membership in SPD.

The nomination should summarize key papers which form the basis for the proposal as well as a description of the scientific achievements that justify the award. The full CV including referred publication list is also required. Additional supporting letters will enhance the nomination. All materials should be submitted through the OpenWater portal.

Karen Harvey Prize Program is Now Open for 2021 

Nominations are sought for the SPD early career Karen Harvey Prize, established in May 2002 in honor of the late Karen Harvey, in recognition of a significant contribution to the study of the Sun early in a person's professional career. The prize will be awarded to a person who has not reached 36 years of age, or who has not reached ten years of cumulative professional experience since the PhD or equivalent degree, at the end of the year preceding the award. Extension of the eligibility period due to career interruption can be considered. The award is open to anyone who meets the age or professional experience requirement, without regard to sex, race, nationality, or membership in the SPD.

The nomination should be endorsed by supporting letters, and a full CV including a list of publications. A link to an Astrophysics Data System library listing the nominees publications is encouraged. Nominations for the Harvey Prize must be updated every year with at minimum an updated CV and summary letter (other additional materials/updates are also encouraged). All materials should be submitted through the OpenWater portal.

The nomination deadline for both prizes is Monday, 15 November 2021.