15 December 2020

Nominations Open for 2022 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics

This post is adapted from a Breakthrough Prize press release:

Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics LogoThe public nomination period for the 2022 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics is now open. Nominations can be submitted online through 1 April 2021. While self-nominations are prohibited, anyone may nominate another person. The nomination form and rules are available on the Breakthrough Prize website.

One 2022 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics ($3 million) will recognize an individual(s) who has made profound contributions to human knowledge. It is open to all physicists — theoretical, mathematical, and experimental — working on the deepest mysteries of the universe. The prize can be shared among any number of scientists. Nominations are also open for the New Horizons in Physics Prize, which will include up to three $100,000 awards for early career researchers who have already produced important work in their fields.

The selection committee for the 2022 physics prizes, composed of previous Breakthrough Prize laureates, includes Eric Adelberger, Nima Arkani-Hamed, Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Charles Bennett, Sheperd Doeleman, Michael Green, Jens Gundlach, Alan Guth, Blayne Heckel, Joseph Incandela, Charles Kane, Alexei Kitaev, Andrei Linde, Arthur McDonald, Juan Maldacena, Eugene Mele, Lyman Page, Saul Perlmutter, Alexander Polyakov, Adam Riess, John Schwarz, Nathan Seiberg, Ashoke Sen, David Spergel, Andrew Strominger, Kip Thorne, Cumrun Vafa, Ewine F. van Dishoeck, Yifang Wang, Steven Weinberg, Rainer Weiss, and Edward Witten.

The Breakthrough Prize, dubbed "The Oscars of Science," hosts an annual live, globally televised gala awards ceremony to celebrate the laureates’ achievements and to foster broad popular support for scientific endeavors and inspire the next generation of scientists. Due to the pandemic, the ceremony to honor the 2021 laureates previously set to take place in late 2020 was cancelled. The next ceremony is scheduled for Fall 2021, and will honor the 2021 and 2022 prize laureates. The cohort of 2021 laureates was announced in September 2020.

Related Post