12 February 2019

HEAD Announces 2019 Prize Winners

Richard Fienberg

Richard Fienberg AAS Solar Eclipse Task Force

The following comes via HEAD Secretary Mike Corcoran:

Please join the Executive Committee of the AAS High Energy Astrophysics Division (HEAD) in congratulating our 2019 prize winners:

HEAD 2019 Prize Winners

  • Brian Metzger (Columbia University) and Dan Kasen (University of California, Berkeley) have been awarded the Bruno Rossi Prize for their theoretical predictions of electromagnetic emission from radioactive nuclei produced in neutron star mergers.
  • Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz (University of California, Santa Cruz) has been awarded the Mid-Career Prize for his key contributions to our physical understanding of transient phenomena involving compact objects.
  • Jennifer Barnes (Columbia University) was awarded the Dissertation Prize for her dissertation entitled "Radiation Transport Modeling of Kilonovae and Broad-Lined Ic Supernovae."

Enrico and Jennifer will give prize talks at the upcoming 17th HEAD meeting in Monterey, California, this March. Brian and Dan will give their prize lecture at the 235th AAS meeting in Honolulu, Hawaii, in January 2020.

For more information, see the HEAD press release.