1 May 2018

AAS Members Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Richard Fienberg

Richard Fienberg American Astronomical Society

This announcement is adapted from a National Academy of Sciences press release:

NAS LogoOn 1 May 2018 the National Academy of Sciences announced the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Among them are several AAS members and others working in the astronomical sciences.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine — provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Those elected today bring the total number of active members to 2,382 and the total number of foreign associates to 484. Foreign associates are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States.

Newly elected members include the following:

  • Bildsten, Lars; Frederick W. Gluck Chair in Theoretical Physics and director, Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara [AAS member]
  • Kalogera, Vassiliki; Daniel I. Linzer Distinguished University Professor of Physics and Astronomy and director, Center for Interdisciplinary Exploration and Research in Astrophysics, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill. [AAS member]
  • Tonry, John L.; professor, Institute of Astronomy, University of Hawaii, Honolulu [AAS member]
  • Zaldarriaga, Matias; professor of astrophysics, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, N.J.

Among the newly elected foreign associates is the following:

  • Ekers, Ronald D.; CSIRO Fellow, division of astronomy and space sciences, CSIRO (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation), Epping, Australia (Australia)

Congratulations to these distinguished scientists!