Search form

Warning message

Please note that this article is no longer current, but is being displayed for archival purposes.

2018 Kavli Prize Call for Nominations

Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 14:36

This post is adapted from a Kavli Prize announcement.

Kavli PrizeThe Kavli Prize is awarded by The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters for outstanding scientific achievements in Astrophysics, Nanoscience, and Neuroscience. The call for nominations for the 2018 Kavli Prizes opened on 1 September 2017. The closing date for nominating candidates is 1 December 2017. The winners of the 2018 Kavli Prizes will be announced in May or June 2018 and the award ceremony will take place in Oslo, Norway, on 4 September 2018.

The Kavli Prize for each of the three fields consists of $1,000,000 USD. In addition to the prize money, the laureates will receive a scroll and a gold medal. Nominations for the Kavli Prizes should be submitted to The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters through the online nomination at

The Kavli Prize is a partnership between The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, The Kavli Foundation (US), and The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research. For more information, visit

Mary Mathias
Content Editor & Website Coordinator
American Astronomical Society (AAS)
AAS Controlled Subject Tags: