Search form

First IAU PhD Prize Winners Announced

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 - 08:33

Last year, the International Astronomical Union (IAU) announced the creation of a new annual award, the IAU PhD Prize, to recognize outstanding scientific achievements in astronomy by PhD students around the world. The deadline for receiving applications was 15 December 2016. Each of the nine divisions of the IAU selected one prize winner in their respective fields, and one additional prize was awarded to a winner from developing countries. The IAU Executive Committee received award recommendations from the IAU divisions, and selected the final recipients in their 99th annual meeting that was held in May 2017 in Pune, India.

The names of the 2017 award recipients, and more details about the IAU PhD Prize and its application process and deadline, can be found on the IAU website.

Nader Haghighipour
President of the IAU Division F (Planetary Science and Astrobiology)
Univ. of Hawaii
AAS Controlled Subject Tags: