Search form

AAS Bylaw Changes

Thursday, April 7, 2016 - 10:12

Modifications to the AAS Bylaws, including updating language to be gender-neutral and changes to the Publications Board sections, were approved by the AAS Executive Committee in October 2015 and are presented for member review. According to the AAS Bylaws, "Bylaws may be amended, altered or repealed in whole or in part, or new Bylaws may be adopted by the affirmative vote of two-thirds (2/3) of the entire Council at any regular or special meeting of the Council, provided that at least eight weeks written notice of the proposed changes has been given to the members of the AAS."

The Publications Board changes are included below. The gender-neutral language changes were made to all section of the Bylaws.

Publications Board Bylaws Modification
(Approved by AAS Executive Committee October 2015)

There shall be 9–10 voting members of the Publications Board, consisting of eight members, the chair, and every fourth year a chair-elect. The regular board members shall each serve for four years. Two new members shall be appointed each year to replace two retiring members.

The chair shall serve a term of four years following one year as chair-elect. A new chair-elect shall be elected every fourth year.

Council shall appoint board members from nominees provided by the Nominating Committee. Additional nominations may be made in writing to the Secretary and signed by five AAS members. Written consent to serve shall be required of all candidates for the Publications Board. If a vacancy occurs, the Council, in consultation with the Publications Board Chair, may name new members as necessary.

Chair-elect nominees shall be selected by the nominating committee, in close consultation with the editors-in-chief, the current board chair, and president. Nominees for chair-elect must have previously served on the Publications Board or in some capacity of scholarly publishing activities. The chair-elect shall be voted on by the AAS membership.

The Special Libraries Association, Physics-Astronomy-Mathematics Division’s Astronomy Roundtable shall nominate a non-voting board member, who will be approved by the Council. The term for this representative is four years.

George Fritz Benedict
AAS Secretary
AAS Controlled Subject Tags: