Search form

Vote in the AAS 2014 Election!

Tuesday, December 17, 2013 - 14:49

The AAS election of officers and councilors for terms beginning in 2014 is now under way. New officers and councilors will help decide the Society's direction and goals. The best way to ensure that your voice is heard is to vote!

The ballot is online at and includes links to statements from all the candidates.

While you can see the candidates' names and read their statements without logging in, you must log in to vote. You will need your AAS username and password. Unless you've already changed it, your AAS username is your AAS member ID number. If you cannot remember your username, please contact, call 202-328-2010 and press 4 to reach our membership department, or go to and click the "forgot my username" link.

If you would prefer to use a paper ballot, you may request one from Crystal Tinch by calling 202-328-2010 x115, emailing, or faxing 202-234-2560. Please include your AAS member number, if possible.

We are grateful to the following AAS members who have agreed to stand for election.

Nominating Committee:

  • Rica Sirbaugh French
  • Jacob Noel-Storr
  • Caroline Simpson
  • Nicole van der Bliek


  • Jack Burns
  • Robert Hanisch


  • Nancy D. Morrison


  • Grace Deming
  • Susana Deustua
  • Kelly Holley-Bockelmann
  • Buell T. Jannuzi
  • Karel Schrijver
  • Stephen C. Unwin
  • Liese van Zee

U.S. National Committee for the International Astronomical Union (USNC-IAU):

  • David R. Soderblom
  • Lee Anne Willson

Vote today! Balloting closes at 11:59 pm EST on 31 January 2014.

George Fritz Benedict
AAS Secretary
McDonald Observatory