26 November 2013

AAS Members Among 2013 Class of AAAS Fellows

Richard Fienberg

Richard Fienberg American Astronomical Society

"Meeting Global Challenges: Discovery and Innovation" is the theme for the 2014 Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), but it also describes the achievements of the new AAAS Fellows.

For example, Jay Lockman, Green Bank Telescope principal scientist at the National Radio Astronomy Observatory, identified the Lockman Hole, an area of the sky where astronomers can conduct surveys obscured by a minimal amount of neutral hydrogen gas.

Lockman is among the 388 newly elected AAAS Fellows who were recognized by their peers for their efforts to advance science or its applications. The new AAAS Fellows, whose names will be published in the 29 November issue of Science, will be honored at the AAAS Fellows Forum on Saturday, 15 February, during the AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago, where they will receive a certificate and a blue and gold rosette as a symbol of their distinguished accomplishments.

Among the newly elected AAAS Fellows are seven AAS members, including AAS President-Elect Meg Urry:

  • Donald N. B. Hall (Univ. of Hawaii)
  • Felix J. (Jay) Lockman (National Radio Astronomy Observatory)
  • Nancy D. Morrison (Univ. of Toledo, retired)
  • Stephen S. Murray (Johns Hopkins Univ./Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics)
  • William H. Press (Univ. of Texas, Austin)
  • Mark H. Thiemens (Univ. of California, San Diego)
  • C. Megan Urry (Yale Univ.)

Congratulations, all! (If you’re on the list of new AAAS Fellows for 2013 and we overlooked you, please send me an email so I can add your name here.)

AAAS members who have made scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications and who have been continuous members for the four years preceding their nomination are eligible for election as AAAS Fellows. Three current AAAS members who were previously elected AAAS Fellows may nominate new AAAS Fellows, though only one of the three sponsors may share the nominee's affiliated institution and each AAAS Fellow may sponsor no more than two nominees each year.

Fellows may also be nominated by the steering group of one of the 24 sections of AAAS or the chief executive officer. The Fellows are elected by the AAAS Council from a list of approved nominees submitted by the section steering committees.

This article is adapted from a AAAS press release, “AAAS Council Elects 388 New AAAS Fellows."