6 February 2013

Brouwer Award Nominations Deadline Extended!

Alice Monet, U.S. Naval Obs. (retired)

The Dirk Brouwer Award was established to recognize outstanding contributions to the field of Dynamical Astronomy, including celestial mechanics, astrometry, geophysics, stellar systems, galactic and extra galactic dynamics. The Selection Committee seeks a wide range of award candidates differing in age, gender, nationality, occupation, field of interest, and scientific and technical contributions. The main criteria, which are not necessarily weighted equally, are:

(a) excellence in scientific research;
(b) impact and influence in the field;
(c) excellence in teaching and training of students;
(d) outstanding advancement and other support of the field through administration, public service or engineering achievement.

Anyone may submit a name for consideration for the Brouwer Award.  A candidate's documentation must include:

1.     a letter of nomination by a member of the AAS or DDA,
2.     the curriculum vitae,
3.     a list of publications of the nominee, and
4.     at least three letters of recommendation, by experts in the field of the nominee, attesting to the long term impact and influence of the nominee's various contributions.

If the nominator provides these documents, the Brouwer Award Selection Committee (BASC) must give the candidate full consideration.  Otherwise, the committee may choose to complete the documentation itself, or leave the nomination incomplete.

If you’d been thinking of submitting a nomination, but thought you’d missed the deadline, THERE’S STILL TIME!!! Nomination packages must be submitted to BASC Chair, Tom Statler, tstatler@nsf.gov, by midnight EST, 1 March 2013.