Search form

Honored Elsewhere

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 - 11:14

AAS members among New Class of AAAS Fellows
In October 2012, the AAAS Council elected 701 members as Fellows of AAAS. These individuals will be recognized for their contributions to science and technology at the Fellows Forum to be held on 16 February 2013 during the AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston, Massachusetts. The new Fellows will receive a certificate and a blue and gold rosette as a symbol of their distinguished accomplishments.

Congratulations to the following members:

Lynn R. Cominsky, Sonoma State Univ.
Eli Dwek, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Bruce G. Elmegreen, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Neal J. Evans II, Univ. of Texas at Austin
Neil Gehrels, NASA
Sun Kwok, Univ. of Hong Kong
Angela V. Olinto, Univ. of Chicago
Richard William Pogge, Ohio State Univ.
Nathan A. Schwadron, Univ. of New Hampshire
Keivan Guadalupe Stassun, Vanderbilt Univ.
Michiel van der Klis, Astronomical Institute Anton Pannekoek, Netherlands
G. Mark Voit, Michigan State Univ.
Arthur M. Wolfe, Univ. of California, San Diego

Freeman awarded 2012 Prime Minister's Prize for Science
Professor Ken Freeman, the Duffield Professor of Astronomy at the Australian National University’s Mt Stromlo Observatory, was awarded the $300,000 Australian Prime Minister's Prize for Science 2012 for his role in the discovery of dark matter and for his ongoing research on galaxy structure and composition.

Einasto wins 2012 Viktor Ambartsumian Prize
Jaan Einasto (Tartu Observatory) is the winner of the 2012 Viktor Ambartsumian Prize “for his fundamental contributions to the discovery of dark matter and the cosmic web.”

The Viktor Ambartsumian International Prize is one of the important awards in astronomy/astrophysics and related sciences. It is being awarded to outstanding scientists of any nationality having significant contribution in astrophysics and those fields of physics and mathematics in which Ambartsumian had contributions. The Prize totals USD 500,000 and is being awarded once each two years, starting with 2010.

Faber receives the National Medal of Science
The White House announced that Sandra Faber (UC Santa Cruz) is one of a dozen researchers selected by President Obama to receive the National Medal of Science. Faber, a University Professor of astronomy and astrophysics at UCSC and the interim director of UC Observatories, will receive the award from the president at a White House ceremony in early 2013.

Crystal M. Tinch
Communications Manager
American Astronomical Society (AAS)
AAS Controlled Subject Tags: