Search form

Join us in Rosemont, Illinois
18–21 March 2018


High Energy Astrophysics in the 2020’s and Beyond

Hyatt Regency O'Hare

9300 Bryn Mawr Avenue
Rosemont, Illinois 60018

The current decade is a golden age for high energy astrophysics. A fleet of powerful orbiting observatories, large, medium and small, continue to discover new phenomena across the X-ray and gamma ray bands. Ground-based high energy astrophysics and multi-messenger astrophysics have also advanced dramatically, with the highlight of the decade being the direct detection of gravitational radiation by LIGO and coincident e/m radiation by Fermi, INTEGRAL and numerous space- and ground-based observatories. In contrast the 2020’s offers an uncertain future. The fleet of great observatories is aging, with few or no successors planned. The next new large orbiting high energy facility, ATHENA, will not launch until the end of the decade.

The purpose of this HEAD special meeting is to provide a forum to identify the key areas of discovery for astronomy and particularly high energy astrophysics in the next decade, and to explore ways of advocating high energy astrophysics to the decadal survey panel. This meeting will provide an opportunity for discussing the potential scientific advances offered by the numerous space and ground based high energy observatories being planned and/or studied. Discussion sessions will be held to identify strategies for community advocacy to the decadal survey panel and how HEAD can play a role in facilitating this.


  • Roger Blandford
  • Crystal Brogan
  • Jordan Camp
  • Bryan Gaensler
  • Scott Gaudi
  • Richard Green
  • Francis Halzen
  • Fiona Harrison
  • Paul Hertz (TBC)
  • Steve Kahn (TBC)
  • Chryssa Kouveliotou
  • Henric Krawczynski
  • Jeff Kruk
  • Stephanie Lamassa
  • John Mather
  • Julie McEnery
  • Eric Murphy
  • Richard Mushotzky
  • Paul Nandra
  • Angela Olinto
  • Feryal Ozel
  • Marc Postman
  • Judy Racusin
  • Paul Ray
  • George Ricker
  • David Shoemaker
  • Randall Smith
  • Daniel Stern
  • Ira Thorpe
  • Sam Ting
  • John Tomsick
  • Joaquin Vieira
  • Tom Weisgarber
  • Martin Weisskopf
  • David Williams