Search form

The Lancelot M. Berkeley - New York Community Trust Prize for Meritorious Work in Astronomy is awarded annually for highly meritorious work in advancing the science of astronomy during the previous year. No restrictions are placed on a candidate's citizenship or country of residency. The prize may shared by up to three individuals and individuals are eligible to receive the prize more than once. The work being recognized must have been published in a peer-reviewed journal in the calendar year prior to the AAS prize nomination deadline. The prize consists of a lecture and a monetary prize, which varies based on available funds and is split evenly between the winners of the award, plus travel expenses to attend an AAS meeting within 12 months to present the prize lecture.

The Vice-Presidents of the Society, in consultation with the AAS Editor in Chief selects the Berkeley prize winner(s) for meritorious work published within the last year; nominations are not accepted for the Berkeley prize.

Lancelot M. Berkeley - New York Community Trust Prize Committee

2017 – Garth Illingworth
For his major research programs using innovative tools and techniques to investigate the formation, history, evolution, and nature of the most distant and earliest galaxies. He is awarded the Berkeley Prize for his team’s report describing significant new results, "UV Luminosity Functions at Redshifts z~4 to z~10: 10,000 Galaxies from HST Legacy Fields”, which was one of the most widely cited astrophysics papers of 2015."
Photo of Jan Tauber2016 – Jan Tauber
Tauber is project scientist for the international Plank Collaboration and, as such, helped lead the Planck mission to its groundbreaking success in delivering detailed maps of the cosmic microwave background and precise values of key cosmological parameters. His team’s 2014 report describing these results was the most widely cited astrophysics paper of that year.
Photo of David Weinberg2015 – David Weinberg
For his paper "The Baryon Oscillation Spectroscopic Survey of SDSS-III," written with numerous coauthors and published in the Astronomical Journal in 2013.
Photo of James Lemen2014 – James Lemen
Dr. James Lemen was the leader in the design and construction of the Atmospheric Imaging Assembly for the Solar Dynamics Observatory, which has enabled forefront advances into understanding of solar activity. He is awarded the Berkeley Prize for his widely cited paper entitled “The Atmospheric Imaging Assembly on the Solar Dynamics Observatory.”
Year Recipient(s) Citation
2013 Eiichiro Komatsu For advancing the field of cosmology by using a combination of 7 years of WMAP data together with distances from baryon acoustic oscillations and H0 to place new constraints on the Standard LambdaCDM model. This work was published in 2011, ApJS, 192, 18 with 20 co-authors and was the most highly cited astronomy paper in 2012.
2012 Linda J. Tacconi For her work on cold gas in massive star-forming galaxies in the young universe.
2011 William J. Borucki & David G. Koch For the discovery of new worlds and for taking a major step in determining the extent of life in our galaxy.