Henri Chrétien Grant Committee


Alice Monet
Alice K. B. Monet
AAS Secretary


History: Established March, 1982 with the Chrétien Trust.

Members: Six members appointed by the Board of Trustees for staggered terms.

Term: Three years, January-December; an individual may be reappointed once.

Chair: Appointed annually by the Board of Trustees, the Chair is one of the two senior committee members, individuals in the last year of their term on the Committee.

Charge: Evaluates nominations and chooses annual recipients of Chrétien International Research Grants. The Chrétien award is made annually by the AAS in compliance with the requirements of the Henri Chrétien Trust to honor the memory of Professor Henri Chrétien. The awards are made on the basis of merit and promise, normally to young observational astronomers for projects involving international cooperation or travel.


Committee Chair

Committee Members

Inger Jorgensen

Term: Jan 2018 – Dec 2020

Anthony H. Gonzalez

Term: Jan 2018 – Dec 2020