Doxsey Travel Prize Committee


Alice K. B. Monet, AAS Secretary
Alice K. B. Monet
AAS Secretary

History: Established July 2021. 

Members: Six members will serve for a 3-year term with two members rotating off each year. One term will be from July to June. New members for the upcoming term will be solicited in March. Members must have at least two years of professional experience, post dissertation.

Chair: Selected from members with at least one year of service on the committee with preference given to the two members rotating off in the next year (i.e., with two years of service).

Charge: Nominates for Board of Trustee approval candidates for the Rodger Doxsey Travel Prize.

Committee meetings: 

The committee will meet remotely at least three times between September and November. It will arrive at a decision for winning abstracts no later than the end of November. A sample of such a schedule is:

  • Early-mid September: a committee briefing
  • Early October: meeting to discuss the abstract review process
  • Late November: a final meeting and decisions on winning abstracts

The committee will also meet remotely at least once after the winter meeting to address long- term concerns raised during the most recent judging process and to discuss areas of improvement. The committee will receive and consider a staff report comparing the winners with the candidate pool for the most recent judging and for previous years.

Committee Chair

Malynda R. Chizek Frouard (She/Her/Hers)

Space Telescope Science Institute

Term: Nov 2023 – Nov 2024

Committee Members

Michael Shara

American Museum of Natural History

Term: Nov 2023 – Jan 2025

Shuo Zhang

Michigan State University

Term: Aug 2022 – Aug 2025

Adam J. Smercina (He/Him/His)

University of Washington

Term: Nov 2023 – Jan 2025

Catherine A. Whiting

Colorado Mesa University

Term: Aug 2022 – Aug 2025