1 May 2024

AAS Members Elected to the National Academy of Sciences

This announcement is adapted from a National Academies press release.

National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences has announced the election of 120 new members and 24 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Among those newly elected are several AAS and Division members:

  1. Mitchell Begelman (University of Colorado Boulder)
  2. Francis Halzen (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  3. Lee Hartmann (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)
  4. Maura McLaughlin (West Virginia University)
  5. Richard Ellis (University College London); elected as an international member

Those elected today bring the total number of active members to 2,617 and the total number of international members to 537. International members are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine — provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

The AAS congratulates all the astrophysicists, solar physicists, and planetary scientists elected to this prestigious institution!

Note: If you are a new member of the Academy and are missing from this list, please email us and we'll remedy the omission!