23 June 2020

A Celebration of E. Margaret Burbidge

Frank Timmes Arizona State University

E. Margaret Burbidge, Artwork by Ana Kova
Artwork by Ana Kova

You are invited to join the online symposium to honor the late pioneer E. Margaret Burbidge — the first woman to serve as AAS President (1976-1978) and Inaugural Fellow of the AAS — on Wednesday, 8 July 2020, 1:00-3:00 pm ET. The event will celebrate her life and science through short talks from her colleagues and collaborators as well as researchers who have benefited from her trailblazing and scientific insights.

Speakers include:

  • George Fuller (University California, San Diego)
  • Anneila Sargent (California Institute of Technology)
  • Virginia Trimble (University California, Irvine)
  • Fred Hamann (University California, Riverside)
  • Vesa Junkkarinen (University California, San Diego)
  • Amanda Karakas (Monash University)
  • Artemis Spyrou (Michigan State University)
  • Anna Frebel (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • Nicole Vassh (University of Notre Dame)

The event website can be consulted for any updates and viewing a commissioned illustration.

Zoom Webinar (no password required) 

Or you can dial in: +1 312 626 6799, Webinar ID: 975 8371 7468, Password: 922521

We encourage you to please share this email invitation with any colleagues, friends, or institutions that might be interested as the event is open to all.

The Organizing Committee:
Frank Timmes, Arizona State University
Nicole Vassh, University of Notre Dame