Warner/Pierce Prize Committee


Alice K. B. Monet, AAS Secretary
Alice K. B. Monet
AAS Secretary

Members: Appointed in January by the Board of Trustees

Term: Two years, June to June.

Chair: Appointed by the Board of Trustees. Serves from one annual business meeting to the next: June - June.

Charge: Nominates candidates for the Helen B. Warner Prize for Astronomy and the Newton Lacy Pierce Prize in Astronomy.

"Noting that the Warner/Pierce Prizes are for junior astronomers, that the Heineman Prize has been established as a mid-career award, and that the Russell Lectureship traditionally has been for senior astronomers, the [Board of Trustees] requests the Warner/Pierce Prize Committee, the Heineman Prize Committee, and the Russell Lectureship Committee to take full note of this distinction in making each annual choice."

Committee Chair

Shardha Jogee


Term: Jun 2019 – Jun 2021

Committee Members

Katherine L. Rhode

Term: Jun 2019 – Jun 2021

Shelley Wright

Term: Jun 2020 – Jun 2022

Marusa Bradac

Term: Jun 2020 – Jun 2022

Karin I. Oberg

Term: Jun 2019 – Jun 2021