USNC for the International Union of Radio Science (USNC-URSI)


Alice K. B. Monet, AAS Secretary
Alice K. B. Monet
AAS Secretary

About the USNC: The US National Committee for the International Astronomical Union (USNC/IAU) represents the interests of the US astronomical community and safeguards the intellectual vigor of the Union. The USNC/IAU explores issues in:

  • Interdisciplinary Research and Resources;
  • Individual IAU Membership;
  • Access to Scientific Data and Information;
  • Diversity Among Astronomers; and
  • Young Researcher Participation in IAU.

Members: The USNC is composed of officers and five categories of other representatives all supported by staff of the National Research Council. The AAS elects three members to the USNC to represent the AAS (so-called Category I), three members to represent the AAS Board of Trustees (so-called Category II), and has representation in Category IV, which are ex-officio voting members. In addition the Secretary of the USNC is the Secretary of the AAS.

Term: Three years, January-December


Charge: The committee effects appropriate participation by the United States in the International Union of Radio Science through the National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council. Further information about the committee is available at on the National Academies website.

Committee Chair

Michael Newkirk

Johns Hopkins Univ.

Term: Jan 2022 – Jan 2023

Committee Members

Jeffrey Gary Mangum


Term: Jan 2022 – Jan 2023

Society Representative

Alyson Ford

The University of Arizona

Term: Jan 2022 – Jan 2023

URSI Commission J