Search form

The federal government remains shut down. We are sorting out its effects on our astronomical sciences, and we're asking you for your stories, which we'll collect for a letter to Congressional leaders.

The Historical Astronomy Division's biennial LeRoy E. Doggett Prize will be presented in January to the founder of the field of applied historical astronomy.

In this installment from the AAS Career Profiles series, cosponsored by the Committee on the Status of Women in Astronomy and the Committee on Employment, an astronomer describes the long road to becoming a tenure-track faculty member and project scientist at an observatory.

If you think you might submit a proposal for the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array by the December deadline, please submit a non-binding notice of intent by 10 October.

The National Radio Astronomy Observatory announces an open call for community white papers concerning the science goals, techniques, development areas, and overall design of the VLASS. Deadline: 1 December 2013.

The National Radio Astronomy Observatory announces an open call for nominations of individuals to serve on the VLASS Science Organizing Committee. Deadline: 11 October 2013.

The American Institute of Physics invites applications for its 2014-2015 State Department Science Fellowship, which is cosponsored by the AAS. Deadline: 1 November 2013.

With the regular abstract deadline for the 223rd AAS meeting now behind us, it’s time to choose this year’s Doxsey Prize winners. We seek help from full members willing to review and rank dissertation abstracts. Sign-up deadline: 11 October.

Just past the equinox, AAS President David Helfand reflects on some of the things that make this season special and on some of the special challenges we face this season.

The science instrument payload of the James Webb Space Telescope has begun the first of three space-simulation tests in a giant thermal vacuum chamber at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center.