Search form

The NASA Astrophysics Cosmic Origins (COR) program seeks input from the community to shape the future of COR science by helping to identify and prioritize the program's technology needs. Deadline: 30 June 2013.

David Helfand reviews the current state of our journals, which is excellent, and argues for improving it further by including links in ApJ and AJ articles to the data that underlies a paper's conclusions.

The AAS will cease publication of AER at the end of 2013; the journal's full archive will remain available online. A task force will be created to develop ideas for expanding the Society's investment in other types of astronomy-education activities.

Jim Manning, Executive Director of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, reflects on proposed changes to federal science-education programs and previews the ASP's upcoming annual meeting in San Jose, California.

Fifteen undergraduate and graduate students were cited for their exemplary poster presentations at the 222nd AAS meeting in Indianapolis, 2-6 June 2013.

The Committee on Human Spaceflight invites interested individuals and groups to submit input papers describing their own ideas on the role of human spaceflight and their vision for a suggested future. Deadline: 9 July 2013.

Integration and testing of the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST) Integrated Science Instrument Module (ISIM) is under way. This ongoing work is a major component of the overall JWST integration and test plan to prepare the observatory for its scheduled October 2018 launch.

Professional astronomers interested in the identification of electromagnetic (EM) counterparts to gravitational wave (GW) triggers found in the future science runs of the LIGO and Virgo Advanced detectors are encouraged to submit Letters of Interest by 26 July 2013.

The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) is currently accepting applications for its Fall 2013 Student Volunteer Program. Deadline: 28 June 2013.

AAS member John F. Hawley (University of Virginia) has been awarded half of the $1M 2013 Shaw Prize in Astronomy for his work, with Steven Balbus (University of Oxford), on the magnetorotational instability.