Search form

What is the AAS policy on use of mailing lists?

Postal Addresses
The AAS will permit use of the mailing list by commercial and non-commercial organizations. Details of products or events must be submitted and judged to be of potential interest to a significant fraction of the membership. Authorization is given for one-time use of the list on each occasion. A small fee is charged to cover handling. The AAS mailing list is never sold to firms unrelated to astronomy or science.


Tax-deductible gifts in any amount may be sent by check or credit card directly to the AAS Executive Office. If you wish to direct your contribution to a specific objective, simply indicate the fund(s) for which the gift is designated.

Committee for Sexual-Orientation & Gender Minorities in Astronomy (SGMA)


History: Established as the Working Group on LGBTIQ Equality (WGLE) on 8 January 2012

Members: Appointed by the AAS Board of Trustees

Term: Three years, June to June; staggered

Charge: To promote equality for sexual-orientation and gender minorities (SGMs) within our profession, including those identifying as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, asexual, questioning, or queer. SGMA works to

Warner/Pierce Prize Committee

Members: Appointed in January by the Board of Trustees.

Term: Two years, June to June.

Chair: Appointed by the Board of Trustees. Serves from one annual business meeting to the next: June - June.

Charge: Nominates candidates for the Helen B. Warner Prize for Astronomy and the Newton Lacy Pierce Prize in Astronomy.

Lancelot M. Berkeley - New York Community Trust Prize Committee

History: Established 2010. The first award will be made in 2011.

Members: The three Vice Presidents of the Society and the editors-in-chief of the Astrophysical Journal and Astronomical Journal.

Chair: The senior Vice President.

Charge: Nominating candidates for the Lancelot M. Berkeley - New York Community Trust Prize for Meritorious Work in Astronomy.