23 January 2019

ASP Seeks Nominations for 2019 Awards

By Richard Fienberg

AAS Press Officer

This announcement is posted on behalf of Joycelin Craig (Astronomical Society of the Pacific):

ASP Awards Banner

The Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP) recognizes individual achievements in astronomy research, technology, education, and public outreach each year. We are currently accepting nominations for the 2019 awards up through 1 March 2019. Please note, as you make your nominations, that there are some changes to the year in which each award is given, i.e., some awards are now given only every other year.

In celebration, the ASP hosts the Annual Awards Gala, typically in the San Francisco Bay Area, to honor the recipients. Photos from our annual event are on the ASP Awards website page. Our Annual Awards Gala this year will be held on 9 November 2019 in Burlingame, California.

Nominations are now open for the following ASP awards:

Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal (awarded since 1898 for a lifetime of outstanding research in astronomy). Our highest award is the Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal, awarded for a lifetime of outstanding research in astronomy. Awarded since 1898, the medal has gone to some of the greatest astronomers of the past century. The 2018 recipient is Dr. Timothy Heckman of Johns Hopkins University.

Maria and Eric Muhlmann Award (for important research results based upon development of groundbreaking instruments and techniques). The Maria and Eric Muhlmann Award is given for recent significant observational results made possible by innovative advances in astronomical instrumentation, software, or observational infrastructure. The 2018 recipient of the Muhlmann Award is Pieter van Dokkum of Yale University.

Robert J. Trumpler Award (for a recent PhD thesis considered unusually important to astronomy). The Robert J. Trumpler Award is given each year to a recent recipient of the PhD degree in North America whose research is considered unusually important to astronomy. The recipient of the 2018 Trumpler Award is Benjamin J. Fulton, a staff scientist at NExScI, Caltech.

Arthur B. C. Walker II Award (for an outstanding African American or member of the African diaspora who works in astronomy, astrophysics, space, and/or related sciences as a recognized leader in efforts to diversify the scientific community). The Arthur B. C. Walker II Award has been established to honor an outstanding scientist whose research and/or educational efforts substantially contribute to those fields and who has (1) demonstrated a substantial commitment to mentoring students from underrepresented groups pursuing degrees in astronomy and/or (2) been instrumental in creating or supporting innovative and successful STEM programs designed to support underrepresented students or their teachers. The Arthur B. C. Walker II Award also includes an Arthur B. C. Walker II Scholarship, which the award recipient gives to a student of their choice. In addition, and perhaps even more important than the financial benefit, the prestigious scholarship from the ASP will help support the student's academic and career goals. The 2017 recipient is Dr. George R. Carruthers, astrophysicist, inventor, and 2012 National Medal of Technology and Innovation recipient.

Richard H. Emmons Award (for excellence in college astronomy teaching). Added to our list of honors in 2006, the Richard H. Emmons Award was inspired by a very generous gift from Jeanne and Allan Bishop, in honor of her father, Richard Emmons. Dr. Jeanne Bishop, a well-known astronomy educator in her own right, wished to honor her father, an astronomer with a life-long dedication to astronomy education, by creating an annual award that recognizes and celebrates outstanding achievement in the teaching of college-level introductory astronomy for non-science majors. The 2018 recipient is David Hurd of Edinboro University in Pennsylvania.

Las Cumbres Amateur Outreach Award (for outstanding outreach by an amateur astronomer to children and the public). The Las Cumbres Amateur Outreach Award, given for the first time in 2001, seeks to honor outstanding educational outreach by an amateur astronomer to K-12 children and the interested lay public. The 2018 recipient is Don Ficken of the St. Louis Astronomical Society.

Klumpke-Roberts Award (for outstanding contributions to the public understanding and appreciation of astronomy). The ASP bestows the annual Klumpke-Roberts Award on those who have made outstanding contributions to the public understanding and appreciation of astronomy. Awardees include Carl Sagan, Isaac Asimov, Chesley Bonestell, Timothy Ferris, Walter Sullivan, Heidi Hammel, and the staffs of Sky & Telescope and Astronomy magazines. The 2017 recipient is Prof. Paul A. Delaney, Director of the York University Astronomical Observatory and former Director of the Natural Science Division at York University in Toronto, Canada.

Nominations must be received by 1 March 2019. Please contact awards@astrosociety.org if you have questions about the nomination process. Thank you!